Gossip Girl by Cecily Von Ziegesar series

“Gossip Girl” is an American novel series consisting from 11 books written by Cecily von Ziegesar. The story has been developing for 5 years (2002-2007) and in 2007 the twelfth book, a prequel to the Gossip Girl series, was published. The year 2009 presented us with another follow-up novel narrating about our beloved characters’ returning home from college for the holidays.

The title speaks for itself. It is not a “picking to pieces woman” – something horrifying and offensive, but a gossip girl – something funny and childish, something that promises interesting and unpredictable plot and that makes evident that this books series is intended for teenage readers. The central characters are two college-girls at the Constance Billard School for Girls, an elite private school in New York City's Upper East Side, best friends Blair Waldorf and Serena van der Woodsen. The books depict girls’ daily routine with all their teenage problems including those with their boyfriends, misunderstanding, study, etc. The novel series plot is so vivid and carrying as it is based on von Ziegesar's experiences at Nightingale-Bamford School and on what she heard from friends.

The distinguishing feature of the novels is the way author chose for narration - as a blog chronicling all the events by the eponymous gossip blogger. The name of the blogger is unknown but it interferes in the life of central characters filling it with different events. This makes the plot more alluring as it keeps the reader interested and his attention strained. There are no right or wrong, strong or weak parties, just independent description without justifications, approvals or blames.

The very first book begins with gorgeous socialite Serena’s returning from boarding school to the Upper East side, where she falls right back into the scandal that had once chased her out of NYC.

Love affairs, friendship, quarrels, reconciliations, offences, apologies, parties, study, daily routine of the cream of society’s offspring etc. Are the main characters best friends at real or is it just profitable to both of the girls? All difficulties and problems of an awkward age are gathered and shown.

The Gossip Girl’s narration is not exhausted by this series of novels, it continues with the novel series “Gossip Girl: The Carlyles”.
Cover It Had to Be You
book 0.5
7.48 / 10
Cover Gossip Girl
book 1
6.9 / 10
Cover You Know You Love Me
book 2
8.26 / 10
Cover Because I'm Worth It
book 4
5.96 / 10
Cover I Like It Like That
book 5
7.07 / 10
Cover Psycho Killer
book 13
8.37 / 10